Mekong – ROK Cooperation Fund

Supporting Catalytic and Innovative Activities in Six Priority Sectors

Following the launch of the Mekong - ROK partnership in 2011, the MKCF was established in 2013 to encourage and support cooperation in six priority areas outlined in the Han River Declaration of 2011.

Six priority areas


Information Communication Technology (ICT)

Green Growth

Water Resource Development

Agriculture and Rural Development

Human Resource Development

It was agreed among five Mekong countries (Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Viet Nam and Thailand) and the ROK that the MKCF will be financed through an annual contribution from the ROK to MI and will be managed by MI in accordance with the Terms of Reference (TOR) adopted at the 3rd Mekong – ROK Foreign Ministers’ Meeting in July 2013 in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam. Moreover, at the 5th Mekong – ROK Foreign Ministers’ Meeting in August 2015 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the Ministers recognized the need for a more efficient management of the MKCF and agreed to task MI to act as a Coordinator for the MKCF.

The MKCF logo was created with the view to enhancing the visibility of the MKCF to the wider public. The logo was created by Mekong Institute and represents the cooperation among the constituent states of the Mekong countries and the ROK.